Comptia Security+

Last Wednesday I successfully passed the new Security+ SY0-401 exam. This exam cough my attention after viewing some sample videos from Keith Barker, who created a very engaging video course.

As usual I have started looking at blueprint and topics that are covered in the exam. What I like about Comptia’s exams is they are not vendor-centric, rather than focus more on technologies and their principles.

That gives you good foundation that you can start building on with vendor centric solutions. I already had a security background from work experience and other courses in the past so it was mostly a revision of my knowledge. I am glad to say that I also learned a ton of new things going down this path.

To wrap things up, if you are interested in security in general, this is a great foundation exam, it will give you broader view how various components relate to each other in real world.

Don’t mess with my network.

Here are some useful links

http://www.cbtnuggets.com/it-training-videos/course/ctia-security-plus#
http://certification.comptia.org/getCertified/certifications/security.aspx

Leave a Reply

